Seeking Modern Applications for Real Transformation (SMART) was registered in 1997 under the Societies Registration Act, 1860 with non-profiteering objectives. It has been working with vulnerable communities, with a focus on women, and is committed to creating awareness and empowering communities to speak up and stand up for their rights and entitlements. SMART uses new and traditional communication technologies for acquiring knowledge in order to create a more just social and economic order with a mission to eradicate poverty through gender equality, improved family health, protection of the environment and promotion of democratic participation of minorities.

SMART endeavours to promote not only women’s rights but rights of vulnerable and marginalised groups and strives towards enabling them to reach their potential. It runs a community radio station in Nuh (earlier called Mewat), the most backward district of India. Radio Mewat, licensed to SMART, works towards enhancing the capacities of its listeners by providing them information on their rights, responsibilities, government schemes and development programmes that can help increase access to health, education, financial support and governance. Radio Mewat has a geographical reach of over 165 villages, and reaches over 550,000 people through its 12-hour broadcast.

SMART aims to democratize information through the radio, supplemented with a strong and sustained on-ground community engagement. In places where the radio does not reach, SMART uses narrowcasting to provide information at the doorstep. The radio station is run by the members of the community itself, thereby creating a sense of ownership and has earned credibility within the region and trust of the people.

Radio Mewat is a two times National Award winner for best programming and sustainability. It has also received the SKOCH Order of Merit for its programme on financial inclusion and is featured in the Limca Book of Records for the highest number of calls received by a radio run consumer helpline.

The Governing Board

Archana Kapoor
Alok Kumar
Alka Singh
Pinky Chandran
Shahrukh Alam
Dalip Chopra
Sanjay Kapoor
Mamta Saxena

The Team

Abeer Kapoor
Alok Kumar
Akshay Razdan
Ashvani Sharma
Astha Singh
Gregory Toppo
Gyan Prakash
Himanshi Pandey
James Paulose
Kh. Manglembi Devi
Priyanka Joshi
Rayhan Galib
Satya Prakash
Saloni Singh
Somi Das